coldturkey

At times writing is effortless. Other times nightmarish. But it's always therapeutic.

Clean up day and cats

with 8 comments

Today I would have told you about my grandmother and her wanting to know if I now have a family of my own. The bad thing is that it’s a quarter to 1 a.m. and I badly need to sleep. Last week fornicating cats woke me up every night for five days. Cats are cute but they can make the most horrible noises in the world; it starts like a baby in distress and ends up in a groan of mockery.

I was fed up one night and shot out shirtless, after them. They are on the stairs, two of them. I can’t find a stone or a grenade so I go back, cut an avocado into two and retrieve the seed. I attack the cats with the seed but you know what happens. It’s useless to fight cats and hard to hit any. They make the same noise for two more nights, right from the same spot.

I visit home a few weeks ago and it happens that one of my many paternal grandmothers is visiting as well.

– You have neglected your first wife. Why?

– How can I do that? I haven’t.

– You don’t come to see her anymore. How many years now?

– I am in Nairobi making sure I’m earning enough to take care of her. That’s why.

– You never know these matters. How can I believe you?

– Well, how can I find another? You know you’re the only one.

We laugh and I don’t think much of it. Later my old man wants to know if I got the actual question grandma was asking. I say no. Well, it turns out she was asking whether I have a wife now. It is interesting how old folks communicate; text against sub-text.

Friend
Why the core of could be
But the periphery of being
Tumble in
Lest you fade.

Now, this piece of verse caught up with my creativity at a time when procrastination was almost catching up with my potential. There are times when you feel you need to move that cupboard to the other side of the room to catch up with order but you better do it later. Getting up and doing exactly that without ‘further ado’ has never been as satisfying as it becomes.

You feel like a child who has just caught up with how to wipe away mucus on his own: elated and light at heart. And that is where hurrying up means much more that the curse it’s associated with. You have to rise up if you are just lying there, wake up if asleep or stand up if sitting, kneeling…whatever!

Yes, do that and CATCH UP with that ability that is just sleeping inside yourself.

Written by coldturkey

September 3, 2012 at 12:59 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The image of you fighting cats (in my head) needs an illustration forthwith! I wish I could draw.

    Corvinus Maximilus

    October 15, 2012 at 1:49 PM

    • You may not draw, but trust me you can write. How about I look forward to a description? 🙂

      coldturkey

      October 15, 2012 at 1:58 PM

  2. lol…I have experienced cats and their night sounds…and i feel you totally…but the desperate measures of remembering the avacado seed as ammunition has cracked me up to the nth degree….hehehe…naona bado uko kabisa!….as for old folks and their symbolic banter..i have misinterpreted it myself before..and I was absolutely shocked when someone explained what the real question hidden under the banter was..:-)

    yellasoul

    October 23, 2012 at 10:18 AM

    • Hey @yellasoul. I checked you out yesterday and you’ve been missing since March 24th. Absurd! Good to read you here.

      coldturkey

      October 23, 2012 at 6:23 PM

      • hehehe…I know i know…and I am deeply ashamed of myself for going silent…but hey,will try and do better…though life is working me hard…keep throwing those posts our way 😉

        yellasoul

        October 25, 2012 at 4:14 PM

  3. *Grins* Your stand off with the cats has me in stitches. Ever noticed how they tend to stare at us with a look of pure disdain?

    Interesting though. That you wrote this when I’m in the process of trying out the stuff I’ve always wanted to try out but always put it off (or got a touch chicken-y)

    Here’s to unleashing our inner awesomeness 🙂

    Nyambura

    October 29, 2012 at 9:53 AM

  4. “It is interesting how old folks communicate; text against sub-text.”….Totally agree!

    Ghafla!Guy

    November 20, 2012 at 2:57 PM

  5. Awesome. I love the procrastination bit. I should, in fact, hang it up somewhere.
    As for the avocado seed – your imagination is to be gawked at.

    WomanInNairobi

    October 25, 2013 at 5:45 AM


Leave a Reply

