coldturkey

At times writing is effortless. Other times nightmarish. But it's always therapeutic.

Bold Interior Design

with 4 comments

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I will share these photos captured from films using a media player. The next thing I want to do is sunset paintings for my place. I haven’t touched a brush since early 2000s when I sold a sunset to one of my college lecturers.

As I try to make the place look much in order than before, there will be some art on the walls. The thing is, I have believed in an expressionist theory for many years. That means I don’t interfere much with where something falls in the house. I let them be and viewed them positively. The profane would call that a mess. I have called it a bold interior design.

Expressionism as defined online, presents the world solely from a subjective perspective, distorting it radically for emotional effect in order to evoke moods or ideas. That means for instance when you find a cup or pair of socks on the floor, though not intentionally placed (you may have removed the sock and thrown it behind you yonder), if viewed subjectively it may not be necessarily a representation of not being neat.

I especially appreciate these words by Czech art historian Antonin Matějček in 1910. He defined expressionism as the opposite of impressionism: “An Expressionist wishes, above all, to express himself… (an Expressionist rejects) immediate perception and builds on more complex psychic structures… Impressions and mental images that pass through mental peoples soul as through a filter which rids them of all substantial accretions to produce their clear essence […and] are assimilated and condense into more general forms, into types, which he transcribes through simple short-hand formulae and symbols.”

Am I trying to say that disorganization is artistic? Not really.

However, since time changes everything, the bold design will now have to go. Artwork as this and with such allure will adorn the place.

Written by coldturkey

July 15, 2012 at 9:18 PM

Posted in réalité

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow,not only do you write,you paint.Ok.Socks n cups where??I grew up with some unwriten rules,one of them and one which came with so much weight,was ‘everything goes back to its place after use’ 🙂 Share the pics when you are done!

    kwj

    July 17, 2012 at 8:57 PM

    • @kwj. I sure will. Soon, I will open a website for my photos as well….

      Cold Turkey

      August 21, 2012 at 9:08 AM

  2. I’m gobsmacked…

    Nyambura

    August 18, 2012 at 11:49 AM

    • @Nyambura; Always a pleasure, you know 🙂

      Cold Turkey

      August 21, 2012 at 9:09 AM


Leave a Reply

