coldturkey

At times writing is effortless. Other times nightmarish. But it's always therapeutic.

La Vie Alternative.

with 11 comments

The life of an individual person is multi-faceted. I am writing this perched on the arm rest of a couch. There is a song playing on JCTV talking about life being a second and you wanna try it before that second rolls. Next is an interview of a group of Christian men who are into stunt acts; extreme skiing and biking. Next is me singing although not on screen.

We are all leading a certain kind of life that is a routine. Years ago we expected to be along that line of life, we have now been there for some years and we know we will be in the near future. We work, we save. We study, we move jobs. Some are happy, some could be. We necessarily don’t hate what we are doing right now. I love what I do and want to do it for the longterm. As Pete Wells, a writer says, you make it through another day in which you manage to close another deal. You stare at the bumper stickers in the highway. At last you are home. What next? A jog? A dinner of Chinese tea and rocket leaves?

I’m curious. I’m curious of those things I feel capable of but cannot do because of time. The alternatives. Taking yourself out of circulation for some months and having your way or the way of your feelings and abilities. The appreciation of what I would call God’s manifestations of his creativity in our being. His manifold abilities bestowed upon man and woman.

I believe we can much more that we confine ourselves to either by fear, contentment or conformity. I have asked myself what it would be like to stop working for 1 year and travel the world. How fulfilling it would be to sing and preach in the Paris speed train, TGV, for 3 months. Whether it will be a challenge to live with the Touaregs in Niger and learn their language. When it is that I will enter the Dakar rally with an extra fuel cylinder KTM and wheel after wheel eat the Atacama desert or Peru wilderness. The more I think of it the more I feel it should happen. Our minds live the experiences exposed to them. The wide the exposure the more the ideas, but only for those who set out to explore with purpose.

This is an alternative life I would like to live but for a while. I always wished to climb mountains. Those I have, a indication the rest will be. Well, I won’t sing in the train station though. The way to do is to dare. It is absolutely hard to put aside a safe life that you are used to and wade into the dark. I know to well because last year in September I was to stop working and live another life for 1 year. Is it about having enough money to live off? Positive and negative. Yes because who is going to feed you anyway? Most importantly not because letting go is not for the conformist but for the daring and boldly so. The way comes if the will abounds.

I however did not take a break but that I write of it is a sign I will in the future. What is the drive? Curiosity and adventure. How do the other countries taste? How does singing full time feel like? For the weird people, how does sleeping full time feel like? I however will be careful not to do like a man I know.

Dugan [we’ll call him so], worked for an advertising company for some years. He was then retrenched but with a pay off package. 130,000 usd. He paid all his debts and went to Indonesia, Thailand and Australia. He did all he saw Clint Eastwood doing in the movies, lived for the day, lived his fantasies and came back to New York broke. That is not wise.

I hope to live my alternative lives one after another by God. To keep my head and faith, the pillars of my exploration will be a journey to discover more of the Almighty, to make each day count and to eat well.

Written by coldturkey

January 8, 2012 at 6:52 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. why do the people who enjoy sleep gotta be the wierd people??….lol…do i sense someone going through a phase of some sort?…well,to all those people who can make the most of the adventures they dreamt of..I say,good on you!…i just swallowed hard at the thought of 130,000/- USD…oh,the adventures such money can help live out 🙂

    yellasoul

    January 14, 2012 at 10:21 AM

    • Hehe! Right there I see one who enjoys her winks. I do to and can take leave for it but with moderation…Going through a phase? Save for my skin shedding every 6 months, I aint doin no phases.
      Let’s look for that 130k usd and splash it.

      coldturkey

      January 16, 2012 at 3:35 PM

  2. I really get that yearning to …..experience more….get in uncomfortable zones…but at least be alive….lif gets into a rut and the thought of the sameness continuing for years on end can daunt even the bravest of us…and when we hear or see someone else throwing all caution to the wind to do what most would call crazy or stupid..it awakens all these impulses in us …it may not be moving to another country…it may be a hobby an interest a person…something that deep within you will not shut up….well I am tired of being on the sidelines..so i quit my job before Christmas and i am moving to London to study fashion…but mostly just meet new people who i will probably not stand..but nonetheless widen my horizon in terms of people,,places and things…and I have this peace from God that I am walking in the right path,,,we were not meant to just be ordinary…and bleehhhh…

    nyaber

    January 17, 2012 at 1:11 PM

  3. Dugan did not come back to New York broke. He came back with much much more.

    Corvinus Maximilus

    January 27, 2012 at 8:30 AM

  4. @nyaber, that’s the cherry on top on this post! May London receive you well.
    @Corvinus, brilliant! I hadn’t looked at it from that optimist’s view. He actually is doing very well now; got a better job and is marrying in September.

    coldturkey

    January 30, 2012 at 9:12 AM

    • and the memories he has. I have often thought of taking the Dugan route. I confess that I doubt I could and in the same breath I lay blame at mother Africa’s unpredictability for robbing me of the sense of adventure through risk. Ha.

      Corvinus Maximilus

      January 30, 2012 at 9:13 PM

      • Can we just take it? Tell me the risks you see ahead…

        Cold Turkey

        February 3, 2012 at 2:38 AM

  5. Hey you 🙂

    Feels good to be back here and shouting ‘Hear hear!” …If there is one thing that gives me nightmares is conformity. For should it happen, then I’d be just living someone’s else’s life and dream and in my opinion, that’s a slow agonizing death.

    Have a beautiful year.

    Nyambura

    February 1, 2012 at 2:56 PM

    • Hey Nyambura, Very good to have you back. If it’s not trouble that has kept you away, I’m sending a bill your way. Follow the heartbeat, as the cliche goes.
      A fulfilling year too.

      Cold Turkey

      February 3, 2012 at 2:35 AM

  6. 1. I echo Nyambura with “It feels great to be back in here”.

    2. I heart the epic line “The way comes if the will abounds”. I have been reading lots of lit echoing that sentiment and so I’m not surprised I’m back in here.

    3. As someone who has lived an “alternative life” I can assure you that just as the conformed life gets tiring because of its certainty, the “alternative life” can get nerve rackingly tiring because of its uncertainty unless one has a firm faith in God to tide them over the challenging changes.

    The solution? To live a conformed life for part of the year and then throw caution to the winds of change and live your “alternative life” during your vacation time.

    But, having said that, living the real “alternative life” (without a safety net to catch you at the end of your leave of absence from your “real life”) teaches you important life lessons and builds your character in ways that nothing else can. Therefore, in my opinion, there is still no real alternative to living an “alternative life”.

    Miriam

    February 6, 2012 at 4:44 PM

    • Welcome back, Dr.Mirriam. That’s a deep conclusion you propagate there and all good since it’s a life I’m certain you’ve lead. Therefore we can say that since living an alternative life has not alternative to it but to lived, then it has to be lived. Always a pleasure, Dr.

      Cold Turkey

      February 6, 2012 at 9:49 PM


Leave a Reply

