coldturkey

At times writing is effortless. Other times nightmarish. But it's always therapeutic.

What secret hides a Black forest cake?

with 7 comments

I have not had many black forest pieces of cake in my entire life. Well, there is quite a lot I haven’t eaten, which is normal by human standards. In my taste and eat wish list or bucket list if you may, you will find roasted spiders, salamander pie and even monkey meat. Cameroon and Thailand we good? It’s never about the meat or the monkey or the spider but the Chef; the touch, the spices, the mixage, the art de cuisine. It’s about the French in the food. That’s why we have snails [on your hedge] and des escargots [on your dinner table].

Back to cakes. Many people love cakes and know their names. Others love them and don’t care a dime for a name. Still others have names, but don’t love cakes. And yet others have no name and no love for cake. I’m one among the last type. Not that I hate cakes, only wouldn’t realize until a piece is way on its path down to the stomach.

Among the most loved of cakes by my opinion, the black forest cake [BFC] is king. It is especially very popular among women. This is as mysterious to me as the babushka lady is to the whole world! It was the smoother of dating in university. The grease and the synovial fluid of love. The canteen just had to have BFC, which flew off the shelves literally. Well, not quite. BFC was so popular that we had to have an antithesis which was Ugali aka the WFC. A while back we bought a colleague a wall clock sized BFC and it’s still talk in the office. I’ve bought BFC for lady friends. You have bought it too, you love it…brief; most women sway by BFC.

Last weekend I went out for lunch and found this small place where you pay a standard fee, receive plates, go to the table and voila! serve whatever you want. That was very cool. Rice here, fish, indian spices that had me gasping for breath [true], water melon, soda and that was my lunch. Then I saw cakes. Two types. One was brightly coloured and the second, seated with its one eye of a cherry plus snow-like icing sugar on top, was the unmistakable BFC. Hm…honestly this is what came to my mind; what is the secret of your fame? Why do girls love you and specifically you? That afternoon, I served myself BFC for a purely connoisseur reason, then went back to my table for research and discovery.

Starting with the dark cherry, I smashed it between my teeth and exclaimed as the juice washed over the enamel and winked involuntarily at the person across me. Next was the icing sugar. See, the way my knife went was from side to side, not from top to bottom. And so I ate layer after layer; first the cherry, second the white layer and was now left with BFC proper. The real deal, the mass, the majority of the substance, the basic. BFC with cherry on top!

The Black Forest Cake: When just about to be swallowed it turned bitter. I gave it a benefit of doubt and listened again for a change. My pink tongue turned the lump over like they do to mix ballast. My white teeth came together again and squeezed more for sweetness. Nothing! Hanging at the end of my tongue, staring into the throat, milliseconds away from dropping down to the stomach, the BFC betrayed me. By then I knew I was lost. Broken like the Americans when Russian soldiers quickly rushed to Berlin and first planted the red flag to mark end of WW11. It shattered my expectations. A funny fullstop to a fine lunch of Indian cuisine. The BFC now left the mouth minus the little sweetness it had come in with, dressed as a cherry and icing sugar, to hoodwink.

This has now deepened the mystery and will not stop finding till I unravell it. Why is the BFC so loved? Why?

Written by coldturkey

September 11, 2010 at 12:40 AM

Posted in Mind popping

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Black Forest Cake is like a person with allure, the “IT” that is so hard to define.

    If you try to critically dissect such a person you will not discover their “secret” for it is not their looks (which may be mediocre by beauty pageant standards) and neither is it their intellect (which may be subpar by Harvard standards) and usually it is not even their clothes (which may be wanting as per Vogue standards).

    To discover their “secret”, you have to shut your critical mind and experience them by enjoying their company. Similarly, the Black Forest Cake’s secret is discovered by experiencing it.

    Therefore the next time you are in the presence of the Black Forest Cake, don’t butcher it “layer after layer” for the “secret” is not in the cherry or in the cream or in the chocolate. The secret is in the sum of it all.

    Delicately savor (not “smashed it between my teeth”) the passionate cherry, the pure cream and the solid chocolate as a whole and it will reveal its “secrets” to you and positively shatter your expectations.

    Miriam

    September 11, 2010 at 4:12 PM

    • Hehe! Miriam, that’s a most brilliant comment. It has me laughing. I’ll give it another go without butchering but savoring it. πŸ™‚

      Cold Turkey

      September 11, 2010 at 7:34 PM

  2. Dang…. Now I want cake…
    I went looking for a new look, that is how this theme was stumbled upon.
    The bitterness is from the cocoa used to make the cake, from the cooking chocolate. It is rich and dark, but it is pretty much entirely made of cocoa solids.
    Looking through the older posts as well… interesting.

    Mugendi

    September 14, 2010 at 10:49 PM

  3. Now I’m craving for BFC! There is something about it and havent figured it out yet but before i do I will enjoy it πŸ™‚

    Tricia

    September 17, 2010 at 7:17 PM

  4. Damn! Now I’m craving cake. I love Black Forest too!

    kbaab

    September 21, 2010 at 8:34 AM

  5. Lol. Involuntarily winked?

    The secret behind Black Forest is that has to be done right. Unfortunately there’s so much out there masquerading as Black Forest Cake. A few layers of badly made chocolate cake, few layers of bad cream and a cherry and voila!

    Do some homework and get the real thing. You in Nairobi? The only place I’ve sampled BFC huko is Tratorria. Not bad.

    shikomsa

    November 23, 2010 at 10:00 AM

  6. Hm…so indeed there is a secret? Not in Nairobi now but will definitely check out Tratorria to get the real ‘it’ of true BFC. πŸ™‚

    Cold Turkey

    November 23, 2010 at 11:53 PM


Leave a Reply

