coldturkey

At times writing is effortless. Other times nightmarish. But it's always therapeutic.

Cogito, ergo sum as a way of life.

with 3 comments

“Cogito, ergo sum” as a phrase was in fact not from René Descartes, originally. A philosophical statement in Latin, René Descartes only employed it to advance his proof of existence, as removed from the simple act of thinking. It is however widely but erroneously credited to him, simply because he wrote it in French “Je pense donc je suis,” from his works, Discourse on Method and thus reached many common men and women in his country.

“Cogito, ergo sum:” That if someone is wondering whether or not they exist, that is in and of itself proof that they do exist, because the act of thinking must be performed by a being and a being in existence.

In its support of existence, I find use in the phrase [fighting doubt] and similarly outside this support; I do find another reason [confidence in oneself].

Fighting doubt. In the world of metaphysics or the world of beyond matter, there are different ways of viewing the being, one of them being the Skeptics view – not sure whether mind or matter exists. The other is the neutral monist view which completely refutes the existence of matter and mind.

These two views will appear ridiculous to many just like I find them. How can we doubt our own existence? Even from the common sense view, the thought does not add up. We are. I am. You are. It should not be hard to think of being and being as such. Being qua being!

The doubt of God’s existence is the next thing that follows from Skeptics and Neutral monists. Any subscriber to these two views is in the danger of living for living without an effort to improve her/himself or her/his neighbour spiritually simply because to such a person, mind and matter are fantasies.

Atheism follows from such. It is a way of life for some but personally I do believe in a metaphysical being. I believe in my existence, which I credit to this beyond-the-natural being [God], a transcendental reality that I glorify for my success and run to for solace in time of adversity. It’s worth noting that we have a choice to credit our “being” to whomever/whatever we wish. But first you must profess to your being as such.

But I have convinced myself that there is absolutely nothing in the world, no sky, no earth, no minds, no bodies. Does it now follow that I too do not exist? No. If I convinced myself of something [or thought anything at all] then I certainly existed. But there is a deceiver of supreme power and cunning who is deliberately and constantly deceiving me. In that case I too undoubtedly exist, if he is deceiving me; and let him deceive me as much as he can, he will never bring it about that I am nothing so long as I think that I am something. So, after considering everything very thoroughly, I must finally conclude that the proposition, I am, I exist, is necessarily true whenever it is put forward by me or conceived in my mind. [René Descartes]

Confidence in oneself: In the daily issues we as logical human beings go through hard times psychologically when we sometimes fall short of our own expectations. Confidence as conventionally defined is a state of being certain either that a hypothesis or prediction is correct or that a chosen course of action is the best or most effective. Self-confidence is having confidence in oneself.

Many of us, be it in the work place, school, family life etc have failed to connect with the searched-for success for we lack confidence. Education, experience, looks, networks; all answer present. But the one final connecting dot often misses: Self confidence. We may not have shared this with anyone but ourselves, that we need nothing more to achieve our goals.

Lack of self-confidence results from a person preaching unto themselves that a feat is too demanding to be accomplished. The others can but you. The surprising thing is that this is a LIE. It is false. When you overcome the lie, you discover how empty your earlier “faithlessness” in yourself was. How a rumour it was. How untrue it was.

I’m interested in Cogito, ergo sum’s relation to self-confidence. I think therefore I am. I think I can achieve this, therefore I banish all disbelief, therefore I build my confidence and therefore I achieve it. Confidence will flow from your mind holding something true about yourself and hence your becoming that thing eventually.

God allows us to have faith. He roots for visions. He roots for faith. See yourself as such and I will facilitate your being such [of course if it’s Godly]. Jesus sent out his disciples and asked them to have faith that they could make miracles happen just like he, their teacher did. He only required that they believe the Sprit of God dwelt in them; that they already were sons of God to be used by God. As Apostle Paul impressively puts it, “The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit that we are the Children of God.” [Roman 8: 16]. The previous verse, 15, is a popular motivational line for Christians. “For ye have not received the Spirit of bondage to fear…”

From within you, you have the source of inspiration to succeed. Simply believe, have self-confidence, have faith in yourself. As one singer puts it “You can do the undoable, think the unthinkable, reach the unreachable if you believe. You can do all things [overcome all that seems hard] if you believe [that you can].

There go my reasons for picking Cogito, ergo sum as a way of life.

Written by coldturkey

January 18, 2010 at 9:53 PM

Posted in réalité

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. With such delicious dedution of the subject matter, all that I can append as an addendum might simply dilute your thesis and reduce the subject – which I must add is of gross import – to nothing more than just a conjecture. True, the idea of matter being subject of mind has been argued since the dawn of knowledge. And the relationship of the two has been subjected to great many a debates of such royal magnitude. But if you may indulge me, I beg to digress! Much of the debate behind the postulate “cogito ego sum” has been dissected in avenues related to reducing life into ‘the here and now’ with no attendant respect of the future. I find this parallel – the lack of consideration for the future – to be abit both intellectually and spiritually immature. My angle – which I must admit is clouded with dogmaticism – is wholly in line with the Holy Bible. From Genesis through to Revelation, the issue of the battle for the minds of men is very ubiquitous. The exhotation for all who subscribe to the Nazarene’s teachings is for them to be warry of what they feed into their minds. This is because the relationship between mind and matter is taken to be inherently close. Now to my closing remark – we confess what we posess! You are who you think you are.

    Peace!

    Sewe

    January 20, 2010 at 9:28 AM

  2. Hi!

    Tricia

    January 21, 2010 at 9:45 AM

  3. Hi! I believe Iam because He is.

    Tricia

    January 21, 2010 at 9:46 AM


Leave a Reply

